Tuesday, July 26, 2011

15 days

Exactly two weeks from tomorrow I will be on my way to Australia!! As much I have been thinking about it constantly for the last few weeks and have been kept up on my count down, it stills seems to have snuck up on me. 2 weeks seems so much closer than 17 days, so from yesterday to today, I feel the pressure of imprending departure! I am beyond excited though for what God has in store for this adventure!
As stated in the previous post, I will be spending 2 weeks with Phoebe up near Cairns, Australia! Cairns is definitely a temperate climate, so despite it being just the beginning of their spring there, the weather looks to be somewhere around 75 degrees as the high. Add the humidity to that, and I am looking at pretty warm weather. I am super happy about it cause it will be perfect beach weather, and that is what I am planning on doing most of the time while I'm there - spending time on the beach.

Phoebe is still working to figure out what kind of days off she will be able to get, so I might be spending quite a bit of time on my own. Lets hope a miracle happens and Phoebe is able to get time off :)

In light of the possibility of extended solitude, I have started a list of activities I can do and that Phoebe and I can do together while I'm there. I have no set plans, so this is more like a list of possibilities rather than an itinerary:

Mossman: This is the small farming town where Phoebe lives. It seems to be pretty sleepy and relaxed and is most famously known as the gateway to the Mossman Gorge...

 - Mossman Gorge:

The Mossman Gorge is part of the Daintree Rainforest National Park. The Daintree Rainforest is the largest continuous area of natural Rainforest on the Australian Continent.

Port Douglas: This is the beach town just 20 minutes away from Mossman. I have a feeling I will be catching a bus here when Pheobe has to work and finding a spot on the beach and just relaxing and reading for the day!

Port Douglas is also where they take you out to the Great Barrier Reef! AND they Yacht club offers free sailing on Wednesday afternoons... or at least I read that on a website somewhere... gonna need to check that out.

Cairns: This is the larger beach town in the northern part of Queensland, Australia. I would love to head down there a couple days and hang out.

Other places on my list:
Cooya Beach: The aboriginal people give tours on Cooya Beach of crab spearing... sounds fun!
Bungy Jumping/Hang Gliding: My mission is to try and talk Phoebe into doing one of these things with me somewhere!

Those are the only things I have in my head for things to do, otherwise I am completely at Phoebe's disposal and I am sure she has some pretty entertaining site for me to see!

1 comment:

Abi said...

I'm soooooooooooooo excited for you! Looks like you've done the right research :)